top of page

cover image (large JPG)

 

cover image (medium JPG)

 

cover image (PDF)

 

 

THE LAST RHEE WITCH

By Jenna Lee-Yun

Disney·Hyperion (May 14, 2024)

352 pages in hardcover

Ages 8-12, grades 3-7

ISBN-10: 1368099076

ISBN-13: 978-1-368-09907-3

E-book ISBN: 978-1-368-10749-5

Juvenile Fiction / Fantasy & Magic

Juvenile Fiction / Ghost Stories

Juvenile Fiction / Social Themes / Friendship

Cover Art by Deb JJ Lee

Art Design by Zareen Johnson

 

ALT Text: The cover art of The Last Rhee Witch by Jenna Lee-Yun depicts an ominous scene on a dock. A girl peers over the edge of the dock into the lake that shows the reflection of a woman in a white dress and a long red scarf, her long dark hair obscuring most of her face. The tagline, “There’s something strange at summer camp” is positioned on the water next to the woman. Beside the girl on the dock is a black cat and standing behind her are a boy and another girl. In the distance is another boy who looks over at the other children. Lush trees and greeneries loom over the children on both sides and overhead is a full moon.

 

Description from Disney·Hyperion:

 

For fans of The Last Fallen Star, Witchlings, and Ghost Squad, a heartfelt middle grade debut where Korean folklore is all too real and summer camp includes a gwishin haunting.

 

You couldn’t hold onto everything and everyone. You had to choose. And Ronnie only had two hands.

 

Since her mother died when she was five years old, it’s always just been Ronnie Miller and her dad. Two Korean Americans who, thanks to Ronnie’s dad’s adoption by white parents, have never felt all that Korean. But Ronnie is okay with that—as long as she has her dad and her best friend Jack, Ronnie is 99% certain she can get through anything.

 

But as much as she wants everything to stay the same, the world—and her dad—has other plans. Now, Ronnie and Jack are headed away to sleepaway camp for the first time ever. Camp Foster promises all of the outdoorsy activities that Ronnie has so far managed to avoid: ropes courses, scavenger hunts, kayaking on the lake. Ugh. But she can do this. As long as she has Jack.

 

As it turns out, an old manor in the woods is the kind of place that’s crawling with secrets. Secrets like a mysterious gwishin haunting the grounds, a blood-red scarf wrapped too tightly around her ghostly neck. And a witch-hunting dokkaebi intent on finding and silencing the last Rhee witch. And the strange habit all the counselors have of rhyming when they speak . . . just like Ronnie has begun to do lately.

 

For a girl who wants everything to stay the same, nothing is scarier than all the changes Camp Foster brings. New friends. New foes. Souls with unfinished business. And, possibly worst of all, revelations that disprove everything Ronnie knew to be true.

 

Jenna Lee-Yun combines magic, mystery, suspense, and humor into a ghostly action-packed contemporary fantasy.

Advanced Reader Copies Available For Request On Netgalley

Edelweiss Listing

Advanced praise and reviews for THE LAST RHEE WITCH:

 

“A tale of friendship, family, and finding faith in the one percent. I couldn’t put the book down, and was rhyming spells long after the last page was turned. With its satisfying and hopeful ending, The Last Rhee Witch was utterly bewitching!” —Graci Kim, New York Times best-selling author of the Gifted Clans trilogy.

 

“A bewitching tale of magic, mystery, and friendships new and old, THE LAST RHEE WITCH is a book that readers won’t soon forget.” —Tracy Badua, award-winning author of Freddie vs. the Family Curse.

 

Disney·Hyperion Deal Announcement:

Name: Jenna Lee-Yun

Pronouns: she / her / hers

Contact: jennayunwrites@gmail.com

Website: jennaleeyun.com

Social media handle (Instagram, X, threads, facebook, bluesky): jennaleeyun

Agent: Emily Forney at Bookends Literary, eforney [at] bookendsliterary.com

 

Author Bio:

 

Jenna was a voracious reader as a child but found there were never enough books to read. Moreover, there were no books featuring protagonists who looked like her.

 

Now, Jenna continues to read as much as she can and finds there is never enough time to get ahead of her TBR pile. She is overjoyed to see so much more diversity (including Asian-American protagonists) in children's books than she could have imagined as a young reader!

Jenna resides in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, son, daughter, and mini-goldendoodle. She loves nothing more than writing middle-grade and young adult novels with a large cup of coffee. Jenna is represented by Emily Forney at BookEnds Literary Agency.

Press Mentions:

Jenna Lee-Yun: How I Library

bottom of page